Years 7 and 8

All students undertake a common core program. Some Domains offer variations to cater more effectively for individual needs at both social and academic levels.

Our students have classes for five, one hour sessions per day – 50 sessions per 10-day timetable cycle. Within these classes, the eight learning areas (called Domains) will teach a number of sessions. In accordance with Department of Education and Early Childhood Development policy, these learning areas are the framework for all students’ learning.

The learning area subjects are arranged within a schedule which identifies the subject, teacher and room each class attends during every session of the 10 day cycle. All Year 7 and 8 students follow a common compulsory curriculum. The core program consists of studies in the following subjects:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Arts (Art, Performance, Music, Visual Communication)
  • Technology (Wood, Metals and Plastics, Food, Design Textiles)
  • Humanities (History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship, Economics)
  • LOTE (Japanese, Indonesian)

Years 9 and 10

Students are required to complete: A common core that includes English, Science, Humanities and PE. In addition, all Domains offer the students a wide variety of elective based subjects from which they can choose. Rules exist to ensure that a balanced program is followed while at the same time allowing the student to explore and/or deepen their preferred pathway. Suitably prepared Year 10 students have access to VCE and VET units.

Years 11 and 12

There are three broad programs available: VCE, VET and VCAL.

VCE is designed for tertiary entry and for those students that prefer a more academic approach. It is the only program that provides an ATAR score for national tertiary entrance selection. Some VET subjects may be included in a VCE program.

VET these programs allow students to complete a program that provides a nationally recognised qualification within the area selected for study. VET subjects may be included as part of either a VCE or VCAL program.

VCAL is a state endorsed program of study as an alternative to the VCE. It aims to provide a more practical set of vocational skills for direct entry into the workforce or TAFE studies at a more advanced level. It does not produce an ATAR score.